World Cup : About

Junior Club Word Cup is an annual tournament that brings together famous junior teams from around the world.

Yekaterinburgh, Verkhnyaya Pyshma
19 - 27 August 2017

Junior Club World Cup already has a rich history and official IIHF tournament status, as it has been ‘sanctioned’ by the Federation..

First three Junior Club World Cup tournaments were held in Omsk, Russia in 2011, 2012 and 2013. In 2014 Ufa, Russia got to host the tournament and in 2015 it moved to three Sverdlovsk Region cities – Yekaterinburg, Verkhnyaya Pyshma and Nizhny Tagil. In 2016 the tournament was hosted by two Tatarstan Republic cities – Nizhnekamsk and Naberezhnye Chelny. 2016 Junior Club World Cup games were attended by 25,200 fans.

In the past 6 years teams from the following countries competed at the tournament: Austria, Belarus, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Kazakhstan, Norway, Russia, Slovakia, Sweden and USA.

2017 Junior Club World Cup is going to take place in Sverdlovsk Region. Yekaterinburg and Verkhnyaya Pyshma will host the tournament. Eight teams from seven countries will compete for the trophy – Krasnaya Armiya (Russia), Avto (Russia), Snezhnye Barsy (Kazakhstan), HK Riga (Latvia), Jokerit (Finland), MoDo (Sweden), Davos (Switzerland) and Trinec (Czech Republic).

The teams will be divided into two groups. Group A will play in Yekaterinburg, while Group B will compete in Verkhnyaya Pyshma. Quarterfinal matchups will be formed after round robin. The tournament kicks off on August 19th. Gold and bronze medal games are scheduled for August 27th.

Past champions and medalists: 

2011. 1. Krasnaya Armiya (Moscow, Russia). 2. Energie (Karlovy Vary, Czech Republic). There was no bronze medal game – top team from each group proceeded to the final. 

2012. 1. Sudbury Wolves (Sudbury, ON, Canada). 2. Waterloo Blackhawks (Waterloo, IA, USA). 3. Linköping (Linköping, Sweden). 

2013. 1. Omskie Yastreby (Omsk, Russia). 2. HPK (Hämeenlinna, Finland). 3. Dubuque Fighting Saints (Dubuque, IA, USA). 

2014. 1. MHC Spartak (Moscow, Russia). 2. Tolpar (Ufa, Russia). 3. Sioux City Musketeers (Sioux City, IA, USA) 

2015. 1. Djurgårdens IF (Stockholm, Sweden). 2. Chayka (Nizhny Novgorod, Russia). 3. Chicago Steel (Chicago, IL, USA) 

2016. 1. Loko (Yaroslavl, Russia). 2. Reaktor (Nizhnekamsk, Russia). 3. Snezhnye Barsy (Astana, Kazakhstan)