Junior Club World Cup
31.08.2019 в 21:40

2019 Sirius Junior Club World Cup ended with the same matchup it had started with. The fans once again got to see a matchup between Canada and Russia – defending Kharlamov Cup and Junior Club World Cup Loko Yaroslavl faced Team AJHL.

The first game, which took place over a week ago, ended with a hard-working win by Loko. Yaroslavl allowed two quick goals but managed to overcome the deficit and scored the winner in the last minutes of regulation.

Canada couldn’t score a quick goal in the gold medal game. ‘Railway men’ learned their lesson and put pressure on the opposition right away. However, North Americans are used to that brand of hockey and were able to check Yaroslavl forward in the neutral zone. Robert Kincaid got a minor penalty four minutes in and Russia locked AJHL Selects in their zone for almost two minutes.

After Canada got their fifth man back out on the ice, Vladislav Rybakov had a great chance to get on the board but Matt Davis was ready for his backhand shot. A couple of minutes later Loko hit the post and the puck slid along the goal-line but there was no one to bury it. Referees even decided to video review the play to confirm there was no goal.

Midway through the period Anton Malyshev got a minor and Vladislav Okoryak had to make several saves. First goal of the game was a bit of a fluke. Grigory Denisenko took a long shot, Davis had a piece of it but the puck went up in the air and landed right behind the goal-line. Late in the period Team AJHL had a great chance to score the equalizer but Loko defensemen blocked several shots in a row.

Second period began with another AJHL penalty. ‘Railway men’ failed to convert on it and gave up a 2-on-1 rush. Marc-Antoine Benoit jumped out of the penalty box, decided to shoot and hit the post. Canada grabbed the momentum and Loko had to stay alert on defense.

Soon after that captain Ryan Conroy got a 2-minute minor and a 10-minute misconduct for his check on Vladislav Rybakov. Canada killed off the penalty almost effortlessly and then got a chance for a long 5-on-3. AJHL didn’t do well on as they took just one shot on Okoryak over the stretch, while Loko converted on their next powerplay attempt. Nikita Anokhovsky finished off a tic-tac-toe play from the right face-off circle.

Early in the third stanza Yaroslavl put Davis up to work once again. Nikolai Kovalenko took a shot from a good area but missed the net. Vladislav Chervonenko passed it to Ilya Mironov from behind the net and the latter took a long shot but this time Davis was ready for it. Canada struggled offensively. It seemed that their inability ot find the back of the net in the second period had its toll on the team mentally.

Canada played rough and ran into a penalty problem, which soon affected the score. Grigory Denisenko skated to his favorite spot and scored his second goal of the night. Denisenko fired it home from mid-range, putting it out of reach. Late in regulation Vladislav Rybakov and Daine Dubois brought the fans to their feet as they decided to fight. Canada pulled Davis for the extra attacker late in the game but still couldn’t get anything past Vladislav Okoryak.

‘Railway men’ win their third Junior Club World Cup in franchise history. They won their first trophy in 2016 in Nizhnekamsk and then got to hoist it again in Sochi in 2018. Yaroslavl won 16 consecutive games at the tournament, losing none.

Kärpät from Oulu, Finland won the bronze medals of the tournament as they had defeated Austrian Red Bull 7-4 earlier in the afternoon.

2019 Sirius Junior Club World Cup
August 31st. Sochi, Russia. Shayba Ice Arena
Loko (Russia) – Team AJHL (Canada) – 3-0 (1-0, 1-0, 1-0)
1-0 – Denisenko (Slepets, Lukashevich) – 14-42
2-0 – Anokhovsky (Kovalenko, Daryin) – 37-36 PPG
3-0 – Denisenko (Unassisted) – 55-04 PPG

Goaltenders: Okoryak - Davis

Final standings

1. Loko (Russia)

2. Team AJHL (Canada)

3. Kärpät (Finland)

4. Red Bull (Austria)

5. Team NAHL (USA)

6. MODO (Sweden)

7. Ocelari Trinec (Czech Republic)

8. Davos (Switzerland)

Individual awards:
Best goaltender: Vładisłav Okoryak (Loko)
Best defender: Michael Benning (team AJHL)
Top Scorer: Alex Young (Team AJHL)
Best forward: Tuukka Tieksola ("Kärpat")
MVP: Grigory Denisenko (Loko)